FirmTape compared

The tools that sell dealer-gamma positioning, read off their own public pages. One row is marked amber against us, and it is there on purpose — the honest version of a comparison table is the only kind worth publishing.

1,122+ sessions, freeevery finished day replays with no account; the archive is the proof, not a trial Backtests your own ruleplain words in, an out-of-sample verdict against an honest baseline, "no edge" included Orders, not printsevery large SPX order rebuilt from the tape, legs folded into the parent, ranked by what it did to the book Works with AI, inside and outASK answers over the chart from our own measurements; an MCP server brings the archive to Claude and ChatGPT, free Publishes its null results35 research posts on the same archive, the losers included The tape, not the closethe book rebuilt from the options tape every second, three books side by side: volume by default, open interest, and the tape-signed measured book
FirmTapeOptionsDepthTanukiTradeGammaEdgeOPEX Trader
Price / month$0–49 · data $249$199–249$50–70$125–150$0–999
Free tierArchive + today delayedNone5 symbolsFree courses, 14-day trial3 symbols, delayed
Inspectable history1,122+ sessions30 daysWeb-app replay, depth not statedNot publishedNot published
Symbols124 · SPX book every second, the rest every 5 minSPX + VIX250+Equities + SPX729
ES/NQ futures levelsYes · parity basis, no CME dataYes · ES from SPX, NQ from QQQ
Before the openPREMARKET · est. from 04:00 ET, LIVEToggle · spot at 06:30 ET, updates from 06:40
Dealer sideConvention on volume · tape-signed view tooExchange-tagged (Cboe)OPRA-derivedDerivedDerived
Backtests your ruleYes — LAB, out-of-sampleNoNoNoBuilt-in engine
MCP for AI assistantsLive nowNoPlanned, early access Oct 23NoNo
Publishes null resultsYes — /researchNoNoNoNo
Full history as filesYes — 1,122+ sessions, $249/moCSV + API, 30-day window———
Sells buy/sell signalsNeverNoNoNoYes

Head to head

The questions this product is actually shopped under, one page each, the rival's pages read on a stated date: FirmTape vs SpotGamma, FirmTape vs MenthorQ, FirmTape vs FlashAlpha, FirmTape vs Profitabul, FirmTape vs GEXBot, and the whole field priced and dated on SpotGamma alternatives.

The row we lose, and why it is in the table

OptionsDepth reads participant-tagged data straight from the exchange: their dealer side is stated by Cboe, not guessed. Ours is not. The default view, the volume book, applies the standard dealer convention to the day's traded volume and signs nothing. The measured book, one switch away, infers the side of each print from which side of the spread the aggressor hit. Rather than describe either with an adjective we publish the measurements: see which gamma measure sees anything and which book is the zero-gamma flip. If exchange-tagged truth per strike is the thing you are buying, they have it and we do not.

What we have instead is the thing that makes an inferred number checkable: 1,122+ finished sessions, free, no account. Every level this site has ever printed sits in that archive next to what price actually did. Their history window is 30 days unless you buy the data separately. So the two products answer different questions — theirs is "what is the dealer's tagged position right now", ours is "does this level do anything, measured over four years, and can I test my own rule against it".

Two more, read on 2026-10-03

Neither fits the grid above (six columns is what a table carries on a phone), so they get a smaller one. Every cell is what their own pages state; a blank is what they do not say.

GammaFlipGEXDesk
Price / month$39 crypto · $59 indices · $79 bothFree, ads and broker links
Free tier3 days, no cardEverything, no account
SymbolsBTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, HYPE · indices, ETFs, mega-capsSPY, QQQ, IWM + five mega-caps
Where the levels come fromCrypto: Deribit, Bybit, OKX, Derive · US: prior-day OIThe previous day's close
Dealer sideNot statedNot stated
HistoryUp to 90 days of heatmapsNot published
ReplayYesNot offered

The one-line reading of each. GammaFlip ships a working GEX replay, which until it appeared only this site did; how far back its recording goes and how the dealer side is decided, the pages do not say, and its US open interest is the prior day's. GEXDesk is free, with a paid intraday tier announced, and says on its own page that the levels come from the previous day's close: a different object from a book rebuilt from the options tape, which is why "free" alone settles nothing.

Where each of the others is genuinely stronger

And the rest of where this one is

Check the archive first See pricing

“—” means no such product was offered on that vendor's own public pages when they were last read; it is not a claim that none exists. A blank cell in the ES/NQ row means that vendor was not covered by the 2026-09-30 reading that row comes from; in the before-the-open row, by the 2026-10-09 reading. Competitor details were read from each vendor's own public pages on 2026-10-03, the two named beneath the table included, and are reproduced for comparison only; they change without notice — check the source before relying on any of them. No affiliation with, or endorsement by, any product named. Not investment advice.