SpotGamma alternatives (2026)

every tool that sells dealer-gamma positioning, read off its own pages · SpotGamma read 2026-10-03

SpotGamma is the best-known name for options positioning: 3,500+ symbols, HIRO, a daily research note, $89 to $299 a month. Nine services, this one included, sell some version of the same levels, from free to $1,499 a month, and they differ on things the sales pages do not put next to each other: whether the history can be inspected, how the dealer side is decided, and whether a rule can be tested. This page puts them next to each other, with the date each was read. FirmTape is the site you are on; it is the first row, and it loses one column, marked amber.

Price / monthFree tierHistoryDealer sideBacktestMCP / APIRead on
FirmTape$0 archive · $49 live1,122 sessions + today delayed1,122 sessions, freeConvention on volume; tape-signed view tooYes, out-of-sampleLive MCP + OpenAPIlive
OptionsDepth$199–249None30 days intradayExchange-tagged (Cboe)NoNo2026-10-03
MenthorQ$129–349Free forever, delayed30 days, end of dayFrom futures-options chainsNot statedNot stated2026-10-03
TanukiTrade$49.99–69.995 symbolsWeb-app replay, depth not statedOPRA-derivedNoMCP + REST planned, early access Oct 232026-10-03
FlashAlpha$0–1,4995 requests/daySince 2017, top tierSign convention; flow-signed on top tierTop tier73 MCP tools + REST2026-10-03
OPEX Trader$0–9993 symbols, delayedNot statedDerivedFrom $99.99 tierAPI on a coming tier2026-10-03
GammaEdge$125–150Free courses, 14-day trialNot publishedDerivedNoNo2026-10-03
GammaFlip$39–793 days, no cardUp to 90 days of heatmapsNot statedNoREST API, crypto only2026-10-03
GEXDeskFreeEverything, no accountNot publishedPrevious day's closeNoNo2026-10-03

One line on each

ES and NQ futures levels

How each vendor that states it converts its levels to the E-mini futures, read on 2026-09-30:

Before the open

What each vendor that states it shows before 09:30 ET, read on 2026-10-09:

Where SpotGamma is still ahead

Questions people ask

What is the best free SpotGamma alternative for SPX gamma levels?
FirmTape gives away every finished SPX session since 2022 (1,122 sessions) with no account, and today's levels 15 minutes late at /now. GEXDesk is free too, computed from the previous close. MenthorQ and FlashAlpha have permanent free tiers on delayed data; TanukiTrade's free tier is five demo symbols.
Which SpotGamma alternative has better dealer positioning?
OptionsDepth is the one that reads participant-tagged data from Cboe rather than inferring the dealer side; it costs $199 to $249 a month with no free tier. Every other tool in the field, FirmTape included, derives or infers the dealer side, and only FirmTape publishes measurements of how often its inference is wrong.
Which alternatives cover more than SPX?
All of them, FirmTape included since September 2026: 4 indexes, 41 ETFs and 60 stocks carry the volume and open-interest books at /gex, free, while the tape-signed book, the Lab and the long archive stay SPX. GEXDesk covers SPY, QQQ, IWM and five mega-caps. MenthorQ covers 1,000+ tickers with futures options; FlashAlpha 6,000+ equities plus CME futures; TanukiTrade 250+; GammaFlip adds crypto; OPEX Trader up to unlimited symbols on its top tiers.
Which alternatives can backtest a rule?
FirmTape's LAB, with an out-of-sample holdout and a baseline; OPEX Trader from its $99.99 tier; FlashAlpha on its $1,499 tier. The rest state none.
Which alternatives work inside ChatGPT or Claude?
FirmTape (a live MCP server listed in the official registry) and FlashAlpha (73 MCP tools). TanukiTrade lists an MCP server as planned, with early access from October 23, 2026, by waitlist.
How much does SpotGamma cost?
Standard is $89 a month, Pro $129 and Alpha $299, with first months at $17, $25 and $49; annual plans are $801, $1,161 and $2,691 a year (read 2026-10-03).

Check the archive first See pricing

Head to head

“Not stated” means the vendor's own public pages did not state it when they were read; it is not a claim that the thing does not exist. Competitor details were read from the vendor's own public pages on the dates in the table's last column; the ES/NQ futures row on 2026-09-30, and a blank there means that reading did not cover the vendor. The details are reproduced for comparison only. They change without notice, so check the source before relying on any of them. No affiliation with, or endorsement by, any product named. Not investment advice.