FirmTape vs SpotGamma (2026)

SPX dealer-gamma levels, head to head · SpotGamma's pages read 2026-10-03

SpotGamma sells options-positioning analytics across 3,500+ US stocks and the major indices, with a daily research note, live webinars and a Discord. FirmTape measures SPX dealer positioning from the options tape, rebuilt every second while the session runs, and gives away 1,122 finished sessions with no account. The table is what each vendor's own pages state, and one row is marked amber against us on purpose.

FirmTapeSpotGamma
Price / month$0 archive · $49 live$89–299 · annual from $67
Free tier1,122 sessions + today delayedFree tools + a free daily report
SymbolsSPX every second + 100 on snapshots3,500+ stocks + indices
Inspectable history1,122 sessions, free, since 2022Not stated
Dealer sideConvention on volume; tape-signed view tooProprietary models (SGOI, HIRO)
Backtests your ruleYes: LAB, out-of-sampleNot stated
MCP for AI assistantsLive, in the registryNot stated
APIYes: levels and Lab APIs, OpenAPINot stated
Publishes null resultsYes: /researchNot stated
Sells signalsNeverScanners with directional signals (Compass)
Community / educationNoneDiscord + weekly webinars
ES/NQ futures levelsYes: SPX and NDX books by a parity basis, no CME dataYes: basis offset, a precomputed ES column

Where SpotGamma is stronger

Where FirmTape is stronger

The row we lose

FirmTape's dealer side is inferred: each print is signed by which side of the spread the aggressor hit, and the book is rebuilt from that. The inference is good in some regimes and poor in others, and rather than describe it with an adjective the site publishes the measurements: which gamma measure sees anything and which book is the zero-gamma flip. SpotGamma's pages describe their positioning as proprietary models; how well that works is not something their pages let a reader check, which is the difference this page is about rather than a claim that ours is better.

Who should pick which

Pick SpotGamma ifyou trade many symbols, want a daily written read of the market and a community around it, and are happy to take the models on trust.
Pick FirmTape ifyou trade SPX, want to see four years of what the levels actually did before paying anyone, and want to test your own rule rather than someone's signal.

Questions people ask

Is FirmTape a SpotGamma alternative?
For SPX dealer-gamma levels, yes: both publish the zero-gamma flip, call and put walls and a gamma regime. FirmTape measures SPX from the tape, carries 100+ more symbols from chain snapshots, gives the finished-session archive away free and adds a backtester and an MCP server; SpotGamma covers 3,500+ symbols and adds a research note, webinars and a Discord.
How much does SpotGamma cost compared with FirmTape?
SpotGamma lists Standard at $89 a month, Pro at $129 and Alpha at $299, with first months at $17, $25 and $49, and annual plans at $801, $1,161 and $2,691 a year (read 2026-10-03). FirmTape's live stream is $49 a month or $490 a year, and every finished session is free without an account.
Does SpotGamma have historical data or a replay?
Its public pages do not state a history depth, a replay or a backtester. FirmTape's archive replays every SPX session since 2022 minute by minute, free.
Which one has the better dealer positioning?
Neither page can prove it. SpotGamma calls SGOI and HIRO proprietary models; FirmTape infers the dealer side from the options tape by which side of the spread each print hit, and publishes the measurements of how well that works, including where it does not.

Check the archive first See pricing

Other comparisons

“Not stated” means the vendor's own public pages did not state it when they were read; it is not a claim that the thing does not exist. Competitor details were read from the vendor's own public pages on 2026-10-03; the ES/NQ futures row on 2026-09-30, and a blank there means that reading did not cover the vendor. The details are reproduced for comparison only. They change without notice, so check the source before relying on any of them. No affiliation with, or endorsement by, any product named. Not investment advice.